Sendible Social Media Management & Team Collaboration

21 November 2012
Sendible Social Media Management & Team Collaboration

Sendible’s team management tools and abilities give it extra value to those who outsource, manage, serve or employ others.

Sendible’s Business Package includes up to four extra users. If you would like to add an extra user or two, you can simply pay an additional $17.50 per month.  This means that you can add a client as a user without upgrading to a larger plan.  (You can also manage permissions so that he doesn’t have access to private areas of your account.)

But it isn’t only clients you can include in your Sendible stable:  Create valuable team members from your employees or favorite, regular freelancers – team members who can take care of tasks for you, receiving as much or as little supervision and accountability as you wish.

Sharing is secure and easy, thanks to Sendible’s ability to assign or deny specific permissions for each of your users.  No passwords involved (except the Sendible password you create for them).

The types of permission granted can vary too:  You can assign strictly sharing privileges for specific social network accounts without having to share your password.  You can also grant administrative privileges, depending upon team needs.

One other useful feature that allows you to ensure quality and consistency of all posts and messages is the ability to approve team member content before it is posted.

Step 1. Creating Users and Assigning Permissions

First you need to grant your team member access to your Sendible account.

Logging into your account will automatically put you at your Dashboard. Click on the “My Users” tab, upper right-hand corner.

my users on Sendible

Once you’ve opened the User section, click on the Sharing tab.

sharing tab

 

Select “Create New User”.

new user tab

A popup will open up, asking you to fill in the user contact details and advising you how many user slots are left for you to fill.  Go ahead and fill in the details for this user.

user info screen

If they belong to a different company than yours (e.g. your new user is a freelancer who has their own company name) you can change the “Fullname/Company” field to reflect this.

Note that you can use a drop-down menu in the “Managed by” field to change the person who manages your user.

You can also select what user type category you wish to assign them from a drop-down menu – in this case, “Team Member”.  (Other categories are “Client” and “Administrator”.)

  • Use “Team Member” if you wish to restrict your employee or freelancer to specific areas, tasks and privileges.
  • Use “Administrator” if you wish your user to administer and have access to your entire account.

Step 2.  Editing the Workflow

One last action to take:  Slide your eyes down to “Approval Workflow” and decide whether or not you need to approve your new user’s content before it is published. If you wish to change this setting, select “edit”.

Finally, when you are satisfied the New User popup is filled out correctly, click the “Save” button.

approval screen

Note that you don’t necessarily have to be the one who oversees all team members’ work.  In fact, you can go back any time and edit “Approval Workflow” to assign management of other team members to someone else on your team.

content approved by screen

For example, let’s say you’re the Administrative Editor of a magazine, and you’ve become so busy, you’ve just hired Merlin Smith as your new Managing Editor.  You can then assign all writers you’ve added to your Sendible team to Merlin Smith.

He is now the person in your company who approves everything your writers submit or post.  You don’t even have to worry about who’s doing what.

Here’s how it works:

  • User/writer John Doe reports to Merlin Smith.
  • Managing Editor Merlin Smith reports directly to you.  Now you only deal with one person – not a dozen.  You are free to focus on making executive decisions for the magazine.

You can also set separate permissions for each user.  Click on the “My Users” tab.  Select your team member.

select team member

When the popup for that team member appears, select “Permissions” from the bottom tabs within the popup.

permissions screen

Another popup will open up.  You can check and uncheck the boxes in the upper portion to grant or deny access to available features such as reports, groups and SMS.

remove services procedure

You can also remove services available to that user by highlighting the service in the “Added Services” field, then using the backward arrow tab to send it over to your “Removed Services” field.

backward arrow tab screen

Your user will then no longer be able to access that particular Service.

(Remember to “Save User” when you’re finished editing permissions!)

Step 3. Assigning Messages

You can customize Sendible for your team members even further.  One way is to assign particular messages from your own Inbox to specific team members.

Go to your Message Box and open your Inbox.

inbox shot

Find the message you’d like to assign to a team member.

Without opening the message, mark the checkbox to its left, then click on the “Assign” tab, above it.

assign tab

You can then send a message to your team member, if you wish, letting her know what you’d like done with that particular message.  Once you’ve composed it, press the “Assign” button.

assign message

When you’ve finished assigning messages, you’ll see the company or position of each team member at the extreme right side of each message in your inbox.  This helps you know immediately if someone else is taking care of it for you.

assigned to screen

You can also assign or delete tasks through the “Tasks” folder on the left hand side of your message box.

Either way you do it, your team member will receive a message in their Inbox, letting them know a new task has been assigned to them.  (Be sure to remind them to press the “Mark Done” button when they’ve completed it.)

Step 4.  Who Does What

The beauty of Sendible is that you can instantly allow team members access to certain social networks and clients without having to share confidential passwords with them.  Simply assigning these Services to your team member will allow them access to specific clients, tasks and social networks and services when they log onto Sendible.

You can also assign team members to monitor different messages from your “Monitoring” tab in your Message box.

Just select the checkbox to the left of the message you want your team member to monitor and then click on the “Assign” tab and choose the appropriate team member.

Sendible monitoring screen

Step 5. Let your Team Members Know!

There is sometimes confusion reported among business owners on the subject of notifying team members they’ve been added to Sendible.

Once your team members are able to log onto Sendible the first time, they will be notified of tasks assigned, messages to monitor and more through their Sendible inbox.  When you first add them to Sendible itself, however, you will need to let your team member know this has been done, and provide each one with his or her unique login information.  (Sendible doesn’t send out external emails to let new users know you’ve added them.)

Your team member then can then access Sendible and see what tasks have been assigned to her, send and receive messages, and discover what other privileges she can access.

Let her know:

  • Who she will be answering to
  • Whether or not her content needs approval
  • Which tasks she is going to be responsible for

And anything else you need to tell her.

Two links you might find helpful as you first navigate your way around this incredible social Dashboard:  Sendible’s User Manual and YouTube Channel, where you’ll find twenty-three “how to” videos – including a Quick Start video.

Sendible can feel a little tricky at first, but once you’ve got a few functions under your belt and slip into the Sendible mindset, it should suddenly all click into place.  It sounds like hype to say it, but once you’ve set up your team protocols and assigned responsibilities, it will feel as if your team is virtually managing itself.

The key is good initial communication, so once you’ve got everyone on your team in sync with Sendible, you should notice less confusion, less stress and better communication all round.

 

If you enjoyed this post, please consider leaving a comment or subscribing to the RSS feed to have future articles delivered to your feed reader.

Tags: , , , ,